Unseen Education: An Education Story – Sam Jarvis

“If you don’t mind taking a seat he’ll be with you in just one moment.”

However warm and welcoming receptions are one almost always ends up sitting anxiously either staring into space or half-heartedly flipping through an outdated magazine.

 A trickle of sweat ran down my forehead as I gazed around the hall. Sunlight highlighted by red curtains streamed in through the windows, deep oak floors absorbed the rays and glistened like the sea before sunset. As my eyes moved along, Persian rugs formed islands upon which sat desks and cabinets each protecting treasures within. Yet still, my eyes sailed up to a sky of books and wooden shelving that reflected the sea below. I felt out of my depth.

 I pulled my eyes away, as a door opened to the left. “Thank you Mrs Green, we look forward to your son joining us next year.”

A mother and son emerged out of the frame. By the ghostly expression on the mother’s face and the blissful ignorance on the child’s, I knew something had not quite gone right.

The thing with interviews is that questions are asked and answers must be given. Judgement is based on the answer. Interviews become problematic when the interview is for a prestigious high school and the answers are being given by a thirteen-year-old boy whose primary interest at the time is Sponge bob square pants.

Curiosity and comprehension dawned on my mother’s face so she asked. Turns out answering “building an elastic band ball” to “What is your greatest achievement in life?” doesn’t comply with the primary objective of such a school.

I packed out laughing which was followed by a pinch from my mother. To be fair the boy was one of my greatest friends and I wasn’t surprized. The experiences we had shared were unrivalled. From riding sheep to shooting passing cars with potatoes nothing was out of the question.

It was in that instance I realised the impact this individual had had on my life. Along with other friends, he was partly responsible for who I was. I understood that the people we surround ourselves with ultimately effect who we are going to be.

“He’s ready for you now”

A white bearded man greeted and asked us to sit.  Sunlight filtered through the windows bouncing lightly off the white walls and empty space before settling on a desk, cupboard and a few chairs. Almost comical in comparison to the spectacle outside. I felt the pressure fall away.

We went through the formalities; Name, primary school and started on the questions.

“So what is your greatest achievement in life?”

“Making good friends” I replied.

One thought on “Unseen Education: An Education Story – Sam Jarvis

Leave a comment